HomePoliticsCongress Party Announces Second List of Telangana Election Candidates, Mohammad Azharuddin to...

Congress Party Announces Second List of Telangana Election Candidates, Mohammad Azharuddin to Contest from Jubilee Hills

Twitter: @the_news_21

In a significant development, the Congress party unveiled its second list of candidates for the upcoming Telangana elections, featuring 45 individuals who will vie for legislative seats. Notably, the former captain of the Indian cricket team, Mohammad Azharuddin, has been selected to contest from the Jubilee Hills assembly constituency, while Madhu Goud Yaskhi will represent the Lal Bahadur Nagar constituency.

The party’s candidate selection also includes G V Vennela, the daughter of the renowned balladeer and activist Gaddar, who will run for the Secunderabad cantonment constituency, and Raavi Srinivas, who has been chosen as the candidate for the Sirpur constituency.

The Telangana Assembly elections, encompassing 119 seats, are scheduled to be held in a single phase on November 30, with the vote count slated for December 3.

This announcement comes following a crucial meeting in Delhi, attended by party president Mallikarjun Kharge, Sonia Gandhi, and other prominent leaders from Telangana. The 45 names presented in the latest list were approved during the meeting, while a list of candidates for 19 constituencies was referred back to the screening committee for further consideration.

As the state gears up for the elections, a three-way competition is expected to unfold, involving the BJP, the incumbent Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS), and the Congress party. In the previous 2018 Telangana Assembly elections, the ruling BRS emerged victorious, securing a significant 88 out of the 119 available seats, while the Congress managed to secure 19 seats. The upcoming polls will determine the political landscape of Telangana and the potential for change in its leadership.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Must Read