HomePoliticsPalghar Shiv Sena MP Rajendra Gavit writes to Uddhav to support Murmu...

Palghar Shiv Sena MP Rajendra Gavit writes to Uddhav to support Murmu in July 18 Presidential poll

By: Ram Parmar


Mumbai: Rajendra Gavit, Shiv Sena Lok Sabha MP from Palghar constituency has written to former chief minister Uddhav Thackeray requesting the Shiv Sena to support the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) supported National Democratic Alliance (NDA) Presidential candidate, Draupadi Murmu and former Governor of Jharkhand in the ensuing elections to be held on July 18. Gavit has left the decision to Thackeray to support Murmu instead of Yashwant Sinha, the nominee of the Congress-led United Progressive Alliance (UPA) opposition.

In the letter, Gavit said he belongs to the Adivasi community and it will be a proud moment for the Adivasi community to support Murmu and will be the first woman Adivasi President of the nation.

In the letter of July 6, Gavit said the late Sena chief Balasaheb Thackeray had unconditionally supported the then UPA candidates Pratibha Patil who was from Maharashtra and the first Marathi speaking woman as well as Pranab Mukherjee and both were elected President of the country so similarly Uddhav Thackeray should also support Murmu.

It may be recalled that Rahul Shewale, Shiv Sena, Lok Sabha MP from Mumbai has already written to Uddhav Thackeray to support Draupadi Murmu for the President election and now Gavit is the second Sena MP to voice support for Murmu’s candidature.

It is to be known that the Shiv Sena has 19 MPs, including the lone Shiv Sena Lok Sabha MP Kalaben Delkar   from the Union Territory of Dadra and Nagar Haveli.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Must Read