HomeNationPrime Minister Narendra Modi Announces Adoption of New Delhi G20 Leaders' Summit...

Prime Minister Narendra Modi Announces Adoption of New Delhi G20 Leaders’ Summit Declaration, Despite Ongoing Ukraine Conflict Debate


In a significant development, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, serving as the Chair of the G20 sessions, declared the adoption of the New Delhi G20 Leaders’ Summit Declaration, signaling a successful consensus-building effort. He extended his congratulations to the dedicated Sherpas and ministers who played pivotal roles in achieving this consensus.

Modi’s Announcement:

Expressing his satisfaction, Prime Minister Modi shared, “I have received good news. Due to the hard work of our team, consensus has been built on New Delhi G20 Leaders’ Summit Declaration. My proposal is to adopt this leadership declaration. I announce to adopt this declaration. On this occasion, I congratulate my Sherpa, ministers, who worked hard for it and made it possible.”

Delhi Declaration:

In response to the ongoing Ukraine conflict’s debate, India distributed a draft Summit Declaration to member countries on Friday. This draft, however, excluded the section addressing the geopolitical issue, with the aim of fostering a constructive resolution, as reported by the news agency.

Key Highlights from the G20 New Delhi Declaration:

  1. Territorial Integrity and Sovereignty: The declaration emphasizes that nations should refrain from using force or the threat of force to pursue territorial acquisition that undermines the territorial integrity, sovereignty, or political independence of any state.
  2. Counterterrorism: It underscores terrorism as one of the gravest threats to global peace and security, condemning all acts of terrorism as criminal and unjustifiable, regardless of motivation or circumstances.
  3. Economic Growth and Stability: The document focuses on safeguarding vulnerable populations through fair economic growth, enhancing macroeconomic and financial stability, and striving for robust and sustainable economic progress.
  4. Green Development Pact: A commitment to green development and revitalizing multilateralism is central to the declaration.
  5. Open Trade: G20 member nations pledge to promote unrestricted, open, and equitable trade in agriculture, food, and fertilizers while refraining from imposing export restrictions.
  6. Global Healthcare: A unanimous commitment to strengthening the global healthcare framework, enhancing healthcare system resilience, and supporting climate-resilient and low-carbon health systems in collaboration with multilateral development banks (MDBs).
  7. Climate Financing: Aligning financial flows with climate objectives, expanding financial support, capacity-building, and technology transfer to address the needs of developing countries is a key focus.

The New Delhi Leaders’ Declaration reinforces the G20’s dedication to addressing crucial global issues while fostering international cooperation and sustainable development.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Must Read