41 Candidates Including Sonia Gandhi and JP Nadda, Elected Unopposed to Rajya Sabha from 12 States, Here’s the Complete List

The unopposed victories spanned multiple states, showcasing a broad spectrum of political affiliations and regional dynamics.


X: @the_news_21

In a significant electoral development, forty-one candidates secured their seats unopposed in the Rajya Sabha across twelve states, reflecting a diverse representation of political leaders in the Upper House of Parliament. Among the notable figures making their debut in the Rajya Sabha are senior Congress leader Sonia Gandhi, BJP chief JP Nadda, Union Minister Ashwini Vaishnaw, and diamond baron Govindbhai Dholakia.

The unopposed victories spanned multiple states, showcasing a broad spectrum of political affiliations and regional dynamics. Maharashtra witnessed a clean sweep as all six candidates, including Congress turncoat Ashok Chavan, emerged victorious without facing opposition. Similarly, Bihar, West Bengal, Madhya Pradesh, and Gujarat also saw all candidates in the fray securing unopposed wins.

However, competitive races ensued in Uttar Pradesh, Karnataka, and Himachal Pradesh, where no candidates withdrew their nominations, leading to closely contested battles for available seats. Notably, the BJP emerged as the frontrunner with twenty members elected unopposed, followed by the Congress with six seats.

The unopposed victories underscore the intricacies of India’s political landscape, with strategic alliances and electoral dynamics shaping the composition of the Rajya Sabha. The smooth transitions of power in some states contrast with keenly contested races in others, highlighting the diversity of India’s democratic processes.

The newly elected members bring a wealth of experience and expertise to the Rajya Sabha, poised to contribute significantly to legislative discourse and policymaking. Sonia Gandhi’s entry into the Upper House marks a historic milestone, representing a continuation of the Gandhi family’s legacy in Indian politics, while JP Nadda’s elevation reaffirms his prominent role within the BJP.

The composition of the Rajya Sabha reflects a mosaic of political ideologies and regional representations, underscoring the complexities of India’s federal structure. As the newly elected members assume their responsibilities, their collective contributions are anticipated to shape the course of legislative agenda and governance in the country.

List of Elected Candidates:

  1. Maharashtra:
    • Ashok Chavan (BJP)
    • Medha Kulkarni (BJP)
    • Ajit Gopchade (BJP)
    • Milind Deora (Shiv Sena)
    • Praful Patel (NCP)
    • Chandrakant Handore (Congress)
  2. Bihar:
    • Sanjay Kumar Jha (JD(U))
    • Dharmshila Gupta (BJP)
    • Bhim Singh (BJP)
    • Manoj Kumar Jha (RJD)
    • Sanjay Yadav (RJD)
    • Akhilesh Prasad Singh (Congress)
  3. West Bengal:
    • Sushmita Dev (TMC)
    • Sagarika Ghose (TMC)
    • Mamata Thakur (TMC)
    • Md Nadimul Haque (TMC)
    • Samik Bhattacharya (BJP)
  4. Madhya Pradesh:
    • L. Murugan (BJP)
    • Umesh Nath Maharaj (BJP)
    • Banshilal Gurjar (BJP)
    • Maya Naroliya (BJP)
    • Ashok Singh (Congress)
  5. Gujarat:
    • JP Nadda (BJP)
    • Jashwantsinh Parmar (BJP)
    • Mayank Nayak (BJP)
    • Govind Dholakia (BJP)
  6. Andhra Pradesh:
    • G Babu Rao (YSR Congress)
    • Y V Subba Reddy (YSR Congress)
    • M Raghunath Reddy (YSR Congress)
  7. Telangana:
    • Renuka Chowdhury (Congress)
    • Anil Kumar Yadav (Congress)
    • V Ravichandra (BRS)
  8. Rajasthan:
    • Sonia Gandhi (Congress)
    • Chunnilal Garasiya (BJP)
    • Madan Rathore (BJP)
  9. Odisha:
    • Ashwini Vaishnaw (BJP)
    • Debashish Samantray (BJD)
    • Subhashish Khuntia (BJD)
  10. Uttarakhand:
  • Mahendra Bhatt (BJP)
  1. Chhattisgarh:
  • Devendra Pratap Singh (BJP)
  1. Haryana:
  • Subhash Barala (BJP)

Also Read: Sharad Pawar Criticizes PM Modi’s Parliamentary Attendance and Alleges Misuse of Power


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here