18th Lok Sabha Elections Phase 5: Key Candidates Including Rajnath Singh, Piyush Goyal, and Rahul Gandhi in Fray Across 49 Constituencies on May 20

This phase will involve 49 constituencies, marking the completion of the electoral process in Maharashtra and Ladakh. Other states participating in this phase include Uttar Pradesh


X: @the_news_21

As the 18th Lok Sabha elections enter their fifth phase, voters across eight states and Union Territories will head to the polls on Monday, May 20. This phase will involve 49 constituencies, marking the completion of the electoral process in Maharashtra and Ladakh. Other states participating in this phase include Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal, Bihar, Odisha, Jharkhand, and Jammu and Kashmir.

Key Constituencies and Prominent Candidates

Uttar Pradesh:

  1. Lucknow:
    • 2019 Result: BJP, Winner: Rajnath Singh, Margin: 3,47,302
    • 2024 Candidates: Rajnath Singh (BJP) vs. Ravidas Mehrotra (SP) vs. Mohammad Sarvar Malik (BSP)
  2. Rae Bareli:
    • 2019 Result: Congress, Winner: Sonia Gandhi, Margin: 1,67,178
    • 2024 Candidates: Rahul Gandhi (Congress) vs. Dinesh Pratap Singh (BJP) vs. Thakur Prasad Yadav (BSP)
  3. Amethi:
    • 2019 Result: BJP, Winner: Smriti Zubin Irani, Margin: 55,120
    • 2024 Candidates: Smriti Zubin Irani (BJP) vs. Kishori Lal Sharma (Congress) vs. Nanhe Singh Chauhan (BSP)


  1. Mumbai North:
    • 2019 Result: BJP, Winner: Gopal Shetty, Margin: 4,65,247
    • 2024 Candidates: Piyush Goyal (BJP) vs. Bhushan Patil (Congress)
  2. Mumbai South:
    • 2019 Result: Shiv Sena, Winner: Arvind Ganpat Sawant, Margin: 1,00,067
    • 2024 Candidates: Arvind Ganpat Sawant (Shiv Sena-UBT) vs. Yamini Yashwant Jadhav (Shiv Sena)

West Bengal:

  1. Barrackpore:
    • 2019 Result: BJP, Winner: Arjun Singh, Margin: 14,857
    • 2024 Candidates: Arjun Singh (BJP) vs. Partha Bhowmick (TMC) vs. Debdut Ghosh (CPI-M)
  2. Howrah:
    • 2019 Result: TMC, Winner: Prasun Banerjee, Margin: 1,03,695
    • 2024 Candidates: Rathin Chakraborty (BJP) vs. Prasun Banerjee (TMC) vs. Sabyasachi Chatterjee (CPI-M)
  3. Hooghly:
    • 2019 Result: BJP, Winner: Locket Chatterjee, Margin: 73,362
    • 2024 Candidates: Locket Chatterjee (BJP) vs. Rachna Banerjee (TMC) vs. Monodip Ghosh (CPI-M)


  1. Saran:
    • 2019 Result: BJP, Winner: Rajiv Pratap Rudy, Margin: 1,38,411
    • 2024 Candidates: Rajiv Pratap Rudy (BJP) vs. Rohini Acharya (RJD)
  2. Hajipur:
    • 2019 Result: LJP, Winner: Pashupati Kumar Paras, Margin: 2,05,449
    • 2024 Candidates: Chirag Paswan (LJP-RV) vs. Shiv Chandra Ram (RJD)


  1. Kandhamal:
    • 2019 Result: BJD, Winner: Achyutananda Samanta, Margin: 1,49,216
    • 2024 Candidates: Achyutananda Samanta (BJD) vs. Sukanta Kumar Panigrahi (BJP) vs. Amir Chand Nayak (Congress)
  2. Sundargarh:
    • 2019 Result: BJP, Winner: Jual Oram, Margin: 2,23,065
    • 2024 Candidates: Jual Oram (BJP) vs. Dilip Kumar Tirkey (BJD) vs. Janardan Dehury (Congress)


  1. Kodarma:
    • 2019 Result: BJP, Winner: Annapurna Devi, Margin: 4,55,600
    • 2024 Candidates: Annapurna Devi (BJP) vs. Vinod Kumar Singh (CPI-ML)
  2. Hazaribagh:
    • 2019 Result: BJP, Winner: Jayant Sinha, Margin: 4,79,548
    • 2024 Candidates: Manish Jaiswal (BJP) vs. Jai Prakash Bhai Patel (Congress)

Jammu and Kashmir:

  1. Baramulla:
    • 2019 Result: JKNC, Winner: Mohammad Akbar Lone, Margin: 30,233
    • 2024 Candidates: Omar Abdullah (JKNC) vs. Sajad Gani Lone (JKPC) vs. Mir Mohammad Fayaz (JKPDP) vs. Sheikh Abdul Rashid (Independent)

Prominent Candidates in the Fray

The fifth phase will witness several high-profile candidates battling it out, including Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, Commerce and Industry Minister Piyush Goyal, Rahul Gandhi, Smriti Zubin Irani, Omar Abdullah, Sajjad Gani Lone, and Chirag Paswan, among others. These elections are crucial as they will significantly impact the political landscape in these key states.

As voters head to the polls, the nation watches closely to see which political forces will prevail and how the balance of power will shape up in the run-up to the formation of the next government.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here